Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Art-Sharonlee

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

I have immortal longings in me

amaranthine dreams of imaginary hue

not for velveteen desires of wealth and glory

for that is someone else’s path & story…

My dreams are less grandiose

but no less passionate-

– live as life teaches me to live

and leave behind no cross to be borne

by future geneses …

How noiseless falls the foot of time

when each day is a miniature eternity

I clothe my longings in beads and bells

draped in layers of tie-dyed organdie-

I wear no mask, even though all of life is a masquerade …

No legacy do I leave… but thoughts of time-won wisdom

imagery in chronicle of these times

insights of an ordinary woman

a hero among heroes … for all are day-by-day heroes

on this helter-skelter timeline…

I love not Man, nor woman, the less…. but Nature more so

realigning my center  where the liquid lapse of murmuring streams

soothes my soul and feeds my dreams…

… in those times reality bears a weight to crush the strongest spirit

I linger in amaranthine dreams of imaginary hue –

– and feel immortal longings stirring in me.

*

SharonleeGoodhand©28-Jul-14

Inspiration drawn upon-

I love not Man the less, but Nature more. (Byron : Childe Harold)

Liquid lapse of murmuring streams. (Paradise Lost : 8 – 263)

A day is miniature eternity. (Emerson: Journals)

How noiseless falls the foot of time. (W. R. Spencer)

I have immortal longings in me. (Antony & Cleopatra)

Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind. (Pope)

amaranthine – Of an imaginary flower that never fades- unfading – immortal

geneses – generations – A coming into being

 

 

 

Leave a comment