Wingless

Wingless

 

 

Particles cling

peripheral vison

            see’s unseen shadows

I

saw new horizons

    over the

       machinery of cities

       lost connections to

the moors…

         where the bracken fern, an

        unwitting witness 

     of supernatural darkness

 flying on Earth with a whisper of night,

      and songs of

      cities contemplating       

the burning fire…

– smog hisses thick

pervasive

on

Earth

laden with grit

stops the flight of wings,

I

saw –

       a

raven

contemplating the machinery of

            civilisation…

 wingless, I saw myself

    standing in a

    dimly lit vacuum 

unable to reach the essence

Of Time…

 

glossy black

feathered

wings clipped by

            social structure

I saw myself standing

in chilling limbo

  –  the Doors to silence

beyond my reach …

 

   I saw new horizons

    over the

       machinery of cities

       lost connections to

the moors…

forever hovering

on the threshold of flight

nothing more than a caged bird.

*

SharonleeGoodhand

Leave a Reply

